Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 14 of 14 1 2 12 13 14
G
stranger
stranger
G
I do be missing 80% chance to hits 6 times out of 7 in one turn.
And this do be happening with some frequency.
I've just learned to roll with it.
It's quite a laugh sometimes.

(edit - a laugh in an all you can do is laugh kind of way, I'm not actually complaining about the system, it's part of the fun)

Last edited by GalexMystra; 18/02/24 04:43 PM.
journeyman
journeyman
Originally Posted by Eddiar
30% I understand.
50% I also understand.
But 75% and over? Really?
I’ve been playing roleplaying games (with actual dice ☺) for over 30 years now, and I’ve seen some wild swings of chance.

Someone rolling 5 sixes in a row on a six sided die when attacking a nemesis the first time — and repeating the same on the second attack. The probabilities of that are wild (to be precise: 1 / 7776 for the first — it was a called shot: „you’re dead“, one to 60 million for repeating that in the next action). It still happens in real life.

I’ve also seen knights fail to hit anything in a whole fight with 80% hit chance (16 on a d20) while the mage just walzed through enemies with a critical in at every turn. I guess that that’s why fudge point mechanics are popular these days.

Last edited by ArneBab; 18/02/24 04:32 PM.
old hand
old hand
Originally Posted by rodeolifant
Very high DC's?

There's a handful of doors I know that take a DC30 to lockpick.

But, you know.
Get your high dex character with sleitgh of hand proficiency [expertise], guidance, cat's grace, Bardic Inspiration and presto. Maybe roll twice.
Failing all that..... KNOCK. But those instances are stupidly rare. I'm actually surprised there are *so* many DC10 locks everywhere that your 10Dex Cleric can lockpick. What's the point of having a thief these days? Or rather, why do people in this world bother with locking things?