Next Thread
Print Thread
#802576 29/11/21 06:44 AM
H
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
H
First off, as a Baldur's gate 1 & 2 player, a DM, and a Larian fan, hats off to you guys taking on this incredible project. I have put a little over 20 hours into the game and I feel like I have a good handle on what I like and what I would suggest for future patches. For context, I played BG3 on release for a couple days and then put it down until I revisited it this week. (Also, this is my first time ever posting on a forum, so I hope this is the right place to post this). Below are some things that stood out to me (not exhaustive by any means).

Pros
The addition of the weighted dice is a fantastic option for those of us who enjoy diving into all the dialogue choices. It feels good to know that if one conversation goes south just because of the dice, the next conversation will probably go better. Additionally, the ability to add buffs in the middle of conversations gave me some interesting strategic choices. Do I want to burn a 2nd level enhance ability to intimidate the guard, or save the spell for if I fail intimidation and the guard attacks?

The characters are interesting, even in their unfinished state. Like older Baldur's Gate games, I like the feeling of trying to keep a group of very different people together and trying to balance my story choices with how much my allies approve or disapprove of my actions. Knowing that your companions will leave you if you don't invest enough in their goals was always an interesting and unique part of BG1&2.

I LOVE that jumping and shoving (which I think has only come up a couple of times in my real world dnd campaigns) have so much tactical significance. These two features really make me think about my environment unlike BG1 where I largely used the same strategy for most fights.

Suggestions