Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Noctro Offline OP
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
I can't be just me.
If you see the nexus mod page for Divinity 1 you only see reskins. This is because Larian uses a third party software for animation called Granny3d that uses .GR2 files.
Granny 3d is old as f#~k, Blizzard uses it on WoW, which is 13 year old.

I'm making preparations to translate my pen and paper D&D campaign to the Divinity Engine, since I'm studying game art and 3d i thought it would be a good oportunity to deal with new challenges and improve my skills making new models.
And then GR2 comes up.
I didn't know why the D:OS and D:OS EE mod sphere was so...limited, a game with so much possibilities, with a campaign editor...and only cheap retexturings as main popular mods.
Now I know. For modders GR2 is like hitting a wall, specially for the ones that (like me) use profesional tools (Maya+Substance+Zbrush...) in our schools/jobs.
I know that someone has programmed a tool for extracting .pak files into the .gr2 and that Blender can import .dae files, but why leave out the 2 big ones, Maya and Max? Max hasn't got a GR2 importer since Max 7.

We need more info in the so-called modding tools that is coming, because it looks like they will commit the same mistakes they made in D:OS EE, you can't sell the idea of "freedom to create" and then cutting that freedom for modding, that's what killed Sword Coast Legends (A tabletop experience with a DM with no editor nor possible creation of any kind? Great Work. GG)

I mean I could be wrong but i honestly don't understand how Larian can develop an almost perfect system and make the mistake on relying on expensive middleware to work, (and makes an absurd 4 player limit also when most groups are 5 or 6 and the DM, but that's an entire different point)

It's like making the perfect cookies, offering them to us but shielding them against an unbreakable 6-inches-thick reinforced glass.