Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
davarb Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Hi,

I recently started playing this awesome game on PC, but just after start playing it I saw the announcement for consoles.

It seems that this edition is going to be something similar to the previous game's Enhanced edition, so my concern is regarding the savegames, are they going to be compatible current gamesaves with this new edition on PC? Is there anywhere an official statement clarifying this?

If not, it would be very useful to get this info from the developers.

Cheers.

Last edited by davarb; 16/05/18 06:00 PM.
veteran
veteran
I honestly hope not, because any scenario where savegames would keep perfect compatibility would imply that improvements would be trivial.

Party control in Baldur's Gate 3 is a complete mess that begs to be addressed. SAY NO TO THE TOILET CHAIN
V
stranger
stranger
V
I really, really, really hope they make this version compatible with current saves. I've already put 100 hours in and I'm barely off the boat and exploring the main world. Now I want to put the game on hold and wait for this but I simply do not have the time to start over from the beginning. I wish I had some guidance.

journeyman
journeyman
Do not count on savegames being compatible.
Chances are the reason they're releasing it as a separate client is so they don't have to worry about savegame compatibility. If they wanted to do anything major that would break savegame compatibility then this is their opportunity, and there's a lot of things I would think they'd want to change that we can definitely expect as such.

V
stranger
stranger
V
Chances are they're going to rework things like storyline as well, so just play through act 1 again and see that's new? I've currently spend 380 into this game and still haven't finished it. Recently figured out yet another thing in act 1 I didn't know about, after having played through the area easily 10-20 times.

Y
journeyman
journeyman
Y