Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Hi guys!

I just started playing DD and I'm loving it! Nevertheless the quest breaking stuff can get real frustrating. In my case, i got stuck with the "To Rivertown" quest anoying me in the quest log.

As I haven't found a fix for this quest anywhere, I figured then a way to mark the quest as completed hex editing the questlog.

So I hope this can be usefull to anyone having this kind of issues and, if this kind of problem have been issued or solve already, I apologize in advance. So, shall we go to the solution then?

In the save folder, you can find a file named quest_log.000. That's where your quests are stored. The file is actualy a list of every ques in the game and it's structure is, actually, quite simple!

First things first, you should ignore the first 6 bytes. They will always be "4D 4C 33 49 44 00" which I think is some kind of 'magic number'. So you'll wanna start in offset 06!

From there, you will find a structure of 34 bytes which repat itself until the end of file. Each 34 byte structure represent a different quests. There are, therefore, 196 quests in the game (Maybe the subquests are included in this count). The structure of the quest is quite simple:

Bytes 0-3: Quest number (It's stored as a 4 bytes long number)
Byte 4: I have no idea, but it's always 01
Byte 5: It's the status of the quest (00 for unknown, 01 for active, 02 for failesd, 03 for completed)
Bytes: 6-9: Those are always 00
Bytes: 10-21 and 22-33: Those are timestamps. They register the moment you get and finish the quest, but i'm not quite sure which is which.

Now let's do some hexing (please don't hex anybody)!