Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
I'm so excited to play Early Access (can't bring myself to shorten it to EA... every time I see EA I get scared for a moment that people are talking about Electronic Arts) but something that has been hinted at for a while and confirmed in the Panel from Hell is that Descent into Avernus plays some part in BG3. For a while we had heard that Descent serves as a prequel to BG3 which got me very excited because my friends and I just started playing that module. Seeing as it is an adventure for characters level 1-13 and we are level 2 currently... and only play bi-weekly there's obviously no way we're going to finish it before early access starts.

What worries me is the potential for spoilers for the module in the brief glimpse of the story we will get in early access. For example, I had to quickly mute the stream when Adam started discussing the city of Elturel because at the point where my party is... all we know is that the city has 'disappeared' according to Captian Zodge, acting commander of the Flaming Fist. It seemed as though Adam might reveal what was going on with the city on stream.

The nature of adventure modules and D&D in general is obviously one of fluidity and dynamic storytelling. The module isn't a video game where the endings are clearly defined and can end in a certain number of ways, I get that. I doubt BG3 will tell the player, "oh by the way, a group of adventurers came through Avernus and THIS happened, isn't that crazy!" But there is a small part of me that's concerned about what may get revealed about the Avernus module to someone who is currently playing it.

I hear that the game devs browse the sub... can anyone weigh in on this? How heavily will Avernus play into the early parts of the game? Will there be moments where people who want a spoiler free experience for the module should plug their ears and sing through cutscenes?