Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#677442 06/10/20 08:08 PM
OP Offline
Hello, I just started playing this game (I haven't gotten passed the room with the intellect devourer yet) and I wanted to give some early feedback/suggestions/observations:

The Auto save at the beginning of the game froze it for a few seconds, making me think it had crashed the moment I attempted to move my character. I was able to pull up the options menu though, and when I returned to the game I was greeted with the notification that the game had auto saved.

Acid splash does no damage to the Brine bulb. I see by examining it that it is immune to Poison. Feedback that 0 damage was done, or that it is invulnerable/immune would be helpful for the player.

The intellect devourer that you can hear as you explore can be heard through the main menu/pause screen. Can we turn voice/sound off when in the options menu?

I do not like the dice rolling system. We cannot see how our proficiencies play a role in determining the outcome. I believe the way it works is the DC to meet/overcome is lowered, but that is not outright explained, so it seems like there is just a straight d20 roll with no indication that your proficiencies have been accounted for. I would prefer that the DC not change, but that the game allows you to roll, then shows it adding or subtracting your proficiency in the skill you are rolling. Having the game also show you your bonus proficiency while in the dialogue tree may be worth investigating as well. Something like [Strength +0] Force the brain out of the head.

EDIT: I just attempted an investigation on the brain during the conversation where it wants you to free it. The Target was 5 to beat. I rolled a 3. That should be impossible for me, as I have proficiency in investigation with a 16 in intelligence. That puts my total proficiency at +5 for investigation rolls, so the lowest I should be able to roll would be a 6.