Next Thread
Print Thread
A
ALVIG Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
A
I'm gonna do my best to break this up into sections, novel incoming, and spoilers ahead:

Background:

I'm a big 5e nerd, and I've been playing D&D for like 5 years or so. I'm coming at this post from the perspective of a "5e veteran", but not like a lifelong player, I was still young when the old BG games came out, so I'm not at all familiar with them. I have DMed for most of that time, and have DMed two games of BG: Descent Into Avernus (DIA). This feedback will be from the lens of someone familiar with D&D, but I'll try occasionally throw in a note from a more green perspective. I have not yet had a chance to try the multiplayer, so no feedback for that here, but I did do the evil playthrough, so I'll talk about that lower.

I played on Stadia, with a pretty solid internet connection. I did like 5 full run throughs each on different classes (just haven't finished ranger yet).

Overall Positives:

I definitely love the game as whole, and I'm excited to see the full release.
Generally speaking the changes from 5e are done well, and mostly make sense.
Visuals are fantastic, when functioning properly.
The writing is solid, only a few small points where things got weird.
The story overall is intriguing, even a few playthroughs deep I'm not sure what The Absolute is or wants, and I want to know more about my companions' backstories.
Ability descriptions and the like are done well, I expect people who haven't played D&D at all to have a fairly decent time getting into the game.

Okay, actual feedback and critique now...

Character creation:

It's so so good, but I have small gripes.

The hair and beard options should have a drop down menu with little pictures of them on blank heads, rather than the current click though system. It makes it very hard decide between Hair 3 and Hair 12 if I have to flip through all of them.