Print Thread
#701947 16/10/20 08:25 PM
K
Kolvaer Offline OP
apprentice
OP Offline
apprentice
K
According to Larian, this game is massive, and also according to Larian (if I'm remembering right) this game has a level cap at 10ish.

It's Early Access with just the first act and we're already getting to level 4? It seems like we'll max out and have at least half the game to go.

Leveling up in D&D IMO is a big deal - it's a celebratory event that should feel earned and highly anticipated.

So far in BG3, leveling happens so fast it that it doesn't feel special.

Hard to give a solid actionable suggestion here, since I'm not a developer not am I working on the game and know the intended scope of the final product.

Kolvaer #701955 16/10/20 08:33 PM
journeyman
journeyman
The first few levels of DnD kinda need to go by fast. At level 1 and 2 you have so few HP that it's extremely easy just to die from being unlucky. A lot of DnD games start their players at level 3 for this reason.

But aside from that, yeah there is enough exp in act 1 to get us to level 6 apparently. That's a bit much.

Kolvaer #701966 16/10/20 08:41 PM
apprentice
apprentice
+1 to that - it seems that it will be balanced a little bit. Definitely you could up to lvl 6 at the end of act 1.

Kolvaer #701973 16/10/20 08:45 PM
old hand
old hand
I normally start my D&D parties at level 3. Its 900xp total to get from level 1-3 and 1&2 arent fun. If you do xp based leveling ...big difference the further you get. I ran a 2 year 1-2x a week campaign and they ended at level 11.

Character Advancement
Experience Points Level
0 1
300 2
900 3
2,700 4
6,500 5
14,000 6
23,000 7
34,000 8
48,000 9
64,000 10
85,000 11
100,000 12
120,000 13
140,000 14
165,000 15
195,000 16
225,000 17
265,000 18
305,000 19
355,000 20