Larian Banner
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Mage Armor + equipped shield #703896
17/10/20 10:46 PM
17/10/20 10:46 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 7
G
GHouse Offline OP
stranger
GHouse  Offline OP
stranger
G

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 7
Expected behavior: Mage armor + shield + dex modifer of +3 = 18 AC.

Current behavior: Flat 16 AC regardless of shield equipped/unequipped.

Mage armor should stack with equipped shield.

Last edited by GHouse; 17/10/20 10:48 PM.
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #703945
17/10/20 11:29 PM
17/10/20 11:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 338
clavis Offline
enthusiast
clavis  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 338
shield is considered armor therefore it shouldn't

mage armor and shield also are the same bonus type which also doesn't stack.

Last edited by clavis; 17/10/20 11:31 PM.
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: clavis] #703958
17/10/20 11:36 PM
17/10/20 11:36 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 566
Orbax Offline
addict
Orbax  Offline
addict

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by clavis
shield is considered armor therefore it shouldn't


You can't get additional AC from the same source, but these are different sources. Shields, Shield, and Mage armor do all stack

https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/08/10/mundane-shield-and-mage-armor/


What is the problem you are solving? Does your proposed change solve the problem? Is your change feasible? What else will be affected by your change? Will your change impact revenue? Does your change align with the goals and strategies of the organizations (Larian, WotC)?
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: clavis] #703964
17/10/20 11:39 PM
17/10/20 11:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 168
D
D00med Offline
member
D00med  Offline
member
D

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 168
Originally Posted by clavis
shield is considered armor therefore it shouldn't

mage armor and shield also are the same bonus type which also doesn't stack.


The Sage Advice compendium says other wise (https://media.wizards.com/2016/downloads/DND/SA-Compendium.pdf):
"Can you use a shield with mage armor? Mage armor works with a shield. "

Also: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/08/10/mundane-shield-and-mage-armor/

I would say OP is correct and that AC should be 18.

Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #703982
17/10/20 11:49 PM
17/10/20 11:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 7
G
GHouse Offline OP
stranger
GHouse  Offline OP
stranger
G

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 7
Other than this forum is there some other place to pass on feedback? It kind of makes mage armor worthless on an EK.

Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #703985
17/10/20 11:51 PM
17/10/20 11:51 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 566
Orbax Offline
addict
Orbax  Offline
addict

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by GHouse
Other than this forum is there some other place to pass on feedback? It kind of makes mage armor worthless on an EK.



Id drop it in as a bug on the technical forum as well. Since we don't know intent and I dont believe anything in the language on the spell says otherwise, we have to default to 5e rules. By that measure, its a bug.

edit: using the feedback tool from the game launcher goes to a help desk and seems to be a more direct route too. I actually get responses from them there.

Last edited by Orbax; 17/10/20 11:51 PM.

What is the problem you are solving? Does your proposed change solve the problem? Is your change feasible? What else will be affected by your change? Will your change impact revenue? Does your change align with the goals and strategies of the organizations (Larian, WotC)?
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: Orbax] #703986
17/10/20 11:52 PM
17/10/20 11:52 PM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 7
G
GHouse Offline OP
stranger
GHouse  Offline OP
stranger
G

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Orbax
Originally Posted by GHouse
Other than this forum is there some other place to pass on feedback? It kind of makes mage armor worthless on an EK.



Id drop it in as a bug on the technical forum as well. Since we don't know intent and I dont believe anything in the language on the spell says otherwise, we have to default to 5e rules. By that measure, its a bug.

edit: using the feedback tool from the game launcher goes to a help desk and seems to be a more direct route too. I actually get responses from them there.


Thanks, I'll try that.

Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: D00med] #704053
18/10/20 12:42 AM
18/10/20 12:42 AM
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 338
clavis Offline
enthusiast
clavis  Offline
enthusiast

Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 338
Originally Posted by D00med
Originally Posted by clavis
shield is considered armor therefore it shouldn't

mage armor and shield also are the same bonus type which also doesn't stack.


The Sage Advice compendium says other wise (https://media.wizards.com/2016/downloads/DND/SA-Compendium.pdf):
"Can you use a shield with mage armor? Mage armor works with a shield. "

Also: https://www.sageadvice.eu/2015/08/10/mundane-shield-and-mage-armor/

I would say OP is correct and that AC should be 18.

hmm, haven't seen that one before. Thanks I'll make a note of it.

Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #704127
18/10/20 02:16 AM
18/10/20 02:16 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 118
Redwyrm Offline
member
Redwyrm  Offline
member

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 118
Shield is not an armor.
Logically actually would be deny stacking bonuses from physical shield, and shield spell.
But then stacking mechanics in 5e almost non-existent.

Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #704138
18/10/20 02:24 AM
18/10/20 02:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 169
Merry Mayhem Offline
member
Merry Mayhem  Offline
member

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 169
Counterargument would be that why you could do that, you can not have a weapon in you main hand unless you have something to get around it like Warcaster feat to cast spells with Somatic components. Since Wizard don't really melee, add spell focuses for main hand and let the Wizards use their spells as their armor.

Last edited by Merry Mayhem; 18/10/20 02:25 AM.
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #704151
18/10/20 02:36 AM
18/10/20 02:36 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 118
Redwyrm Offline
member
Redwyrm  Offline
member

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 118
In 5e arcane spellcasters need only one free hand to perform somatic component. Which can even be overcomed with dual-wielder feat, which allows perform somatic component while wielding two weapons.
Weapon and shield though, yeah, arcane spellcasters just can't cast spells with somatic component while wielding both (no one can actually) [Linked Image]

Last edited by Redwyrm; 18/10/20 02:38 AM.
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: Redwyrm] #704243
18/10/20 04:06 AM
18/10/20 04:06 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 566
Orbax Offline
addict
Orbax  Offline
addict

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 566
Originally Posted by Redwyrm
In 5e arcane spellcasters need only one free hand to perform somatic component. Which can even be overcomed with dual-wielder feat, which allows perform somatic component while wielding two weapons.
Weapon and shield though, yeah, arcane spellcasters just can't cast spells with somatic component while wielding both (no one can actually) [Linked Image]


War caster allows you to cast with full hands. And the work around is burning your free action to draw/sheathe something in your hand to allow you to cast. They never have a weapon in their main anyway so its just a shield. Mainly comes into play with clerics wearing heavy armor, a shield, and a mace. They go in, attack, free action sheathe, bonus action healing word. Only downside is AOO is with fist, but who really cares. Next turn cast, draw weapon, repeat.The economy makes it so war caster is primary giving you AOO with spells and advantage con checks. The casting with 2 hands is fairly superfluous if you know the free action rules.


What is the problem you are solving? Does your proposed change solve the problem? Is your change feasible? What else will be affected by your change? Will your change impact revenue? Does your change align with the goals and strategies of the organizations (Larian, WotC)?
Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: Orbax] #704297
18/10/20 05:55 AM
18/10/20 05:55 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 118
Redwyrm Offline
member
Redwyrm  Offline
member

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 118
Originally Posted by Orbax

War caster allows you to cast with full hands.


My bad, it is a warcaster (though i often use both feats).

Re: Mage Armor + equipped shield [Re: GHouse] #704366
18/10/20 07:19 AM
18/10/20 07:19 AM
Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 81
Copenhagen, Denmark
M
Mxiio Offline
journeyman
Mxiio  Offline
journeyman
M

Joined: Oct 2020
Posts: 81
Copenhagen, Denmark
Mage Armor and Shield of Faith should stack as well, but it does not in BG3.


Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.2