Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Im new to D&D due to BG3 and i know when it comeds to Warlocks everyone is in for Eldritch Blast, however i was thinking if a melee warlock (Wyll with his rapier and maybe poison infusion) is any viable and if the Warlock gets access on abilities that enhance his melee capability in later levels (after EA)

Cleric of Innuendo
Cleric of Innuendo
I have a melee warlock and she works reasonably well.

Give the character plenty of DEX and equip with Finesse weapons (the rapier is, of course, the best one). You may want to look at the free Mage Armour power when you level up.

To be honest, you'll rarely be using the weapon in the early levels, though, because Eldritch Blast is so superior. What is implemented after EA is still up in the air, but the PnP Warlock can have the Hexblade variant which is pretty good in melee.

Hex Warrior
At 1st level, you acquire the training necessary to effectively arm yourself for battle. You gain proficiency with medium armor, shields, and martial weapons.

The influence of your patron also allows you to mystically channel your will through a particular weapon. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one weapon that you are proficient with and that lacks the two-handed property. When you attack with that weapon, you can use your Charisma modifier, instead of Strength or Dexterity, for the attack and damage rolls. This benefit lasts until you finish a long rest. If you later gain the Pact of the Blade feature, this benefit extends to every pact weapon you conjure with that feature, no matter the weapon's type.

Last edited by Sadurian; 22/10/20 07:43 PM.
A
stranger
stranger
A
You can make warlocks decent in melee, but not Wyll. Wyll just doesn't have the stats for it - with 9 STR and 13 DEX he's just going to be bad at using weapons no matter how you cut it.