Next Thread
Print Thread
T
TheUser Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
T
I'll preface this quickly by saying I've been playing D&D for well over 15 years on both sides of the screen. Fifth Edition is definitely one of the smoothest rulesets of Dungeons & Dragons, but it's not without its wrinkles. I can see that Larian wants to make some changes and bring some of the weaker classes up to parity with the stronger ones (what with the ranger changes) and so I figure now is as good a time as any to offer some of the minor (and major) changes I apply to my own games to make things seem more fair as well as more engaging.

This handful of custom rules are mostly implemented to balance the game out, as well as enrich the strategic depth of the game (especially for martial classes). The changes fall into 2 categories:

Global Changes (i.e. balance changes that apply to everyone)

Class Specific Changes.

Don't worry, it's actually a very small list.

Global Changes: