Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#744554 13/12/20 07:03 PM
fylimar Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Hey, I'm new to the game, I tried some things out, but I'm still unsure, what to play. So far I've made a Tiefling warlock (Great Old One of course as a Lovecraft fan), a Woodelf ranger (I guess pretty standard) and a Githyanki mage (something more out of the box).
With which class/race combo did you have fun and why? I'm not looking for min/maxing only for the fun aspect.

Last edited by fylimar; 13/12/20 07:03 PM.

"We are all stories in the end. Just make it a good one."

Doctor Who
B
journeyman
journeyman
B
My first run was with a gith mage simply because this was new to me (and mage because I knew there was a gith warrior in the game). I am currently playing a woodelf ranger (finesse / dual wielder / stealth / sleigh of hand, a strength based ranger is a super option too)...
However I would recommend the warlock. Reason being that with a high charisma score this will likely be your natural candidate for all dialogues. There is a good amount of charisma-based proficiency checks in the game and it's nice to see your own character gaining access to some "options" even if, story-wise, the importance of passing those checks is, imo, over-estimated. My half-elf warlock (great old one) was my best experience despite the limited combat options for a warlock at that level.

Last edited by Blacas; 13/12/20 09:32 PM.
enthusiast
enthusiast
Drow race tag is interesting - try it in gobbos camp.

stranger
stranger
I prefer to use the Wood Elf for most of my characters. It has the longest movement 10.5m/move, Darkvision, Elf Weapons, Perception & Stealth. All of which are useful for pretty much any and all classes.

As to the classes, I've played them all, but enjoy playing the Warlock, Ranger, and Rogue the most (in that order).