Print Thread
Page 2 of 4 1 2 3 4
old hand
old hand
Originally Posted by Horrorscope
Originally Posted by DumbleDorf
Originally Posted by Sadurian
Originally Posted by Babale
I love DDO though it has been shifting further away from DND. Still a great game in its own right.

BG3 is the first worthy replacement I've seen!

When you say that DDO is shifting away from D&D, do you mean that the 3e ruleset is less relevant, or that DDO themselves have changed the game away from the 3e rules?

Yes, I'm enjoying BG3 as well. D&D is not my first choice for an RPG but I've been playing it for over 40 years and it feels comfortable. I also like Pathfinder:Kingmaker, having been burned in the debacle that was Pathfinder Online and resigning myself to never seeing a proper PF CRPG.

Well enemies with hundreds of thousands of hit points isn't a D&D mechanic but an MMO raid mechanic. The nature of the game became full grind and level up as fast as possible to the point that every group is speed running everything, so if you don't know how to get to every quest you're screwed because no one will wait for you.

The D&D features were heavily hampered by the typical MMO grindfest and player base. I've given up on the MMO / forced multiplayer genre as a whole now.

But if you can somehow find a small group of friends to just play the content as-is, no rush... there's a lot of memorable content.

They are trailing new paths as they are in character levels higher than in the books because of online continuation over years. So yeah you'll see higher level #'s and the like.

No one has friends to play with online. Trying to look for your own groups takes hours to fill for a single 15 minute quest. The whole MMO experience is garbage.

Last edited by DumbleDorf; 20/10/20 06:58 AM.
B
stranger
stranger
B
I love DDO though it has been shifting further away from DND. Still a great game in its own right.