Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
OP Offline
I'm a salesman, average height, average build. Like most people in modern society I probably have a little more body fat than I really should. I can't run marathons, I've never so much as picked up a sword let alone wielded one, and strangely enough I can't seem to cast spells no matter how many Latin sounding words I scream at the top of my lungs. This is why I play RPGs. I don't want to be a salesman I want to be a warrior, or a mage, I want to be able to crush my enemies by wiggling my little finger at them, or wielding a sword I probably couldn't even lift in real life. In short, I play RPGs to feel powerful. Escapism.

Having just completed a playthrough of Early Access, I have to say that it feels like I'm role playing myself. At no point did I feel powerful, at no point did I feel I could crush my enemies or turn them into a pile of goo. I felt like I had no skill in my chosen profession, like I was an Accountant who woke up one morning and decided my new job would be as a hired sword. I don't feel this way in any other RPG, but in this I spend most of my time swinging a sword and wildly missing the target, it's as if my character has never picked one up before. When I cast a spell, I feel like I'm throwing a wet paper towel my opponent, and since I'm stupid enough to walk into a battle wearing dressing gown rather than suit of armour, I feel like I'm a liability, especially since every sleep spell that hits me puts me out like I've been on a weekend bender. I walk up to a two foot tall impish creature, I swing a sword almost as long as I am tall, it comes crashing down on their head doing a monstrous... 1 damage, and the biggest injury this pitiful creature in front of me risks is putting its back out because of how hard he's laughing at me. In short, at no point during my playthrough did I feel powerful.