Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#795120 21/10/21 01:34 PM
ldo58 Offline OP
addict
OP Offline
addict
Windows 11 is about to be pushed out and I didn't find info specific to BG3 compatibility. (Although it is quite possible I didn't look hard enough)

I installed a windows 11 home edition on a virtual machine a while ago and lately also installed steam and BG3 on it.
BG3 crashes on startup with a xC0000409 exception in ucrtbase.dll.
I'm no windows expert but this dll is the C++ runtime library. So this looks like an incompatibility between the build of the bg3 executable and the CRTL that is shipped with windows 11.

So, what is the official take on it ? Does Larian advice to not upgrade to 11 when it arrives in the queue for the PC ?

ldo58 #795131 21/10/21 02:11 PM
veteran
veteran
General advice seems to be not to update to Windows11 for some months. Little to nothing to gain, and potentially a lot to loose I for one keep my TPM off, until some patches come out, and AMD processors are properly supported - am not going to “update”to loose 15% of my CPU performance, no thank you.

EDIT: AMD issue seems to be fixed, after quick googling. Still will wait for further fixes anyway smile

Last edited by Wormerine; 21/10/21 02:27 PM.
ldo58 #795141 21/10/21 02:49 PM
ldo58 Offline OP
addict
OP Offline
addict
True, but many new desk/laptops that you buy are going to come with win11 on it. So, it would be good to know the status.
I kind of expected some problems because of the virtual machine environment , but a c runtime library crash looks to be an operating system problem.

ldo58 #795145 21/10/21 03:13 PM
F
stranger
stranger
F
I just bought a new computer with windows 11. Played for about an hour no issues at all. I did delete my saved games and just started over. I didnt want to chance anything even though they were patch 6 games.

ldo58 #795218 21/10/21 07:53 PM
D
D