Larian Banner: Baldur's Gate Patch 9
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 20 of 23 1 2 18 19 20 21 22 23
old hand
old hand
Didn't you folks learn anything from your encounter with the Empathic Manifestation?

Eddiar Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Originally Posted by robertthebard
Originally Posted by Eddiar
Originally Posted by Boblawblah
I believe the point was

So I am new to D&D lore and honestly I think one of the earliest scenes of the game really assumes way too much of my knowledge of the D&D gods.

When a certain character's religious beliefs are exposed our character seems to have either the "I don't care" response or the interesting "you lied to me!" and even more interesting response "Leave! I wont associate with Sharrans"

But the game doesn't explain what the big frigging deal is! How did this character lie? At no point did they say they worshiped another god or anyone explain to me what the big deal is. Why should I care? What's the down side? I mean compared to a Gith who will murder me if I sneeze funny or literal vampire. Who cares?

we already established the guy has a tough time understanding the written word.

Can't. Stop. Laughing.

What's more hilarious is the majority if not all the people here disagree with you.
It has been 19 pages of people that are trying to communicate to you what the problem is and what the point of the first post of this thread was and you still don't get it.

Actually its probably not hilarious. It's sad really.
Imagine debating for 19 pages against the idea that new players could benefit from the narrator explaining who and what shar is to give context to the reactions of SH's reveal.
Instead of you know... pausing the game and opening an encyclopedia, google or whatever third party lore dump to get an explanation.
And this is all in the context of the game is already doing TONS of world building exposition through the narrator and skills checks.

wow... Just... wow...