Print Thread
Page 3 of 3 1 2 3
S
apprentice
apprentice
S
Originally Posted by Stabbey
Originally Posted by Orbax
I don't think shoving can be resolved as an isolated "fix". The entire combat economy needs to be redone to incorporate everything correctly.

You eat an elephant one bite at a time. This is one bite.

Elephant isn't exactly delicious, we eat it one bite at a time because we have to. There's no reason a game's combat can only be altered one change at a time, especially if you already know your changes will leave vacuums in other areas.

Last edited by Sunfly; 15/10/20 03:43 PM.
old hand
old hand
Originally Posted by Stabbey
Originally Posted by Orbax
I don't think shoving can be resolved as an isolated "fix". The entire combat economy needs to be redone to incorporate everything correctly.

You eat an elephant one bite at a time. This is one bite.

Ok, you just ate a leg, the rest of the elephant fell down. Also, as a solutions architect, my career is based on stopping people from fixing things one at a time like rats at a feeder bar taking in issues. Its how you end up with "accidental" or "organic" systems that you now have a system the way it is because a dev team pulled a tetsuo and trapper-keepered in quick hits.

You have to try to see why its like the way it is. Here are some of my theories

- Jump / Disengage as an action. Because you are consistently put into clusterF scenarios with environmental issues, elevation traps, and an *incredibly* ambiguous "threatened" v "in melee and will get an AOO" range. You will die without this mechanic. I have never used jump and never even come close in all of my D&D years playing to come to what I have had to do in this game to date. So if we looked at "fixing" that (not saying this thread is) it wouldnt solve the issue of why it needs to be so heavily used and why changing its economy would make the game extremely difficult.