Next Thread
Print Thread
#818960 07/07/22 10:28 PM
Z
Jhe'stil Kith'rak
OP Offline
Jhe'stil Kith'rak
Z
New thread in general because this isn't exactly feedback, but a desire to get a sense from the community, specifically PHB-using 5e players and people interested in balance. I'm not a Dnd expert, so maybe some people can enlighten me. Why are there so many charisma casters? Warlock, Sorcerer, Bard, and Paladin (to a lesser extent). Meanwhile, only 1 Int-caster (Wizard), and 2 Wis-casters (Druid, Cleric). Even independent of casters at this stage, we have two STR-classes (Fighter, Barbarian) and two DEX-classes (I know you can switch the builds around, but the point remains). Then you can avoid a lot of combat with persuasion, deception, or intimidation rolls. I don't want to fault Larian too much because they're working from 5e rules, and rules are indeed rules, but this could be a problem, especially if a lot of the game is going to be built around Charisma due to what is ultimately a sort of selection bias, like if a randomly selected player just defaults into a charisma character each time. Already I can see the potential for heavily reduced importance of intelligence. 1/3 of the classes in PHB seem to be based on Charisma, even though Charisma is 1/6 of the abilities. Only 1/12 based on Intelligence. If INT is ignored any more, it could become a de facto dump stat for the game, even with its usage in uncovering information in the world (because a lot of that can also be done with WIS depending on circumstance). One could make the argument that each ability score also provides boosts to skill scores, but it rings a bit hollow when some of those CHA classes can pick up proficiency like grass in a field.