Wait, is the point that you have to have both classic and Definitive installed together, or nothing at all? So you end up wasting hard drive space on a version you don't intend to play?
Well you can delete the old game directory.
If you redownload you need to clear space for the lot and then download it all and delete what you don't want.
Not ideal but perhaps there was a commercial reason.