if there is no height rules, there is no need to design a map that involved complex topography. Everything happens in a flat surface. And the high ground has nothing but block the camera.
although it does seems strange that gravity can influence magic. But i think arrow has no problem to benifit from high ground.
i am totally new to DND. And if fire bolt can't create a flammable surface, but merely deal with 1d6 damage, while ray of frost can deal with 1d8, which means fire bolt became a useless cantrip.

Also people complain about exchange stuff during combat. But in board game you only control 1 character, and in BG3 is 4, which means you need to think really carefully to distribution resource to each character and waste a lot of time to split and drag item. it sounds very painful.

Interaction with environment seems became a defect in BG3, where it supposed to add fun. Obviously you can't count every envirnmental factor in board game, nor a pc 20 years ago can. But now, i'm sure my i5 9400 can handle it. So if pc can count the different hitpoint on different body part as a vital factor in the future. I'sure it's a advance not regress. We can't say "oh it's wrong because we can't do that in 20 years ago". The environmental factor still needs to polisch but not just remove it.