Originally Posted by Niara
I'm personally GLAD they've ditched that rule, and it's the one place where I absolutely support them diverging from 5e, because the arbitrariness of that bonus action casting rule simply does not need to exist, and is a legacy left over from impressions of casters in earlier editions which no longer hold true in 5e.

Agreed, and it’s a tough enough rule for seasoned 5E players to wrap their brains around, let alone someone who’s coming at this game with no 5E knowledge. They’d probably just assume it was a bug if it wasn’t letting you cast a levelled spell when you have your action still available.