Originally Posted by Khultak
I would assume they are using the fear spell, which says that a target frightened by the spell MUST take the dash action and move away from the caster on each of its turns unless it can't move. The frightened condition is closer to what you describe in that it gives the frightened target disadvantage on ability checks and attack rolls while in the presence of what frightened them and they cannot move closer to what frightened them.

Unfortunately not; currently ALL fear effects work as functionally turn skips in BG3 - regardless of source. this is made all the more confusing since the description on the fear debuff reads closer to the 5e rules - implying that characters should, indeed, be able to act on their turn at disadvantage, and saying nothing about being forced to run away.

Their implementation of status conditions in general has a lot of very big issues right now, and the mess with the frightened effect is only one of them. (There's a thread here, that breaks most of it down, if you're interested: https://forums.larian.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=739348&page=1)