I am a new player to the Baldurs Gate series, this is my first time playing any of the games, and I'm not familiar with the setting of Faerun or the Sword Coast. Something that was sead in passing above made me think of something; this game doesn't really give me a sense of the setting. Maybe it's because of how much faerun has influenced other fantasy stuff, but playing through the game, I haven't really gotten a sense of place from act one, no sense of why the area I'm in is unique in anyway. It feels like this could just be any random wood area. In contrast, when I played Solasta I got a sense for the vibe of the setting really quickly. Same with both Pathfinder games and the Pillars of Eternity games. Same with the Dragon Age games, I could go on. It doesn't really feel like I'm in a particular place, just that this is where the adventure is. I'm not someone hung up on having a day/night cycle, I don't think I need that for immersion, but the area we're in doesn't feel like part of a larger whole really. It feels like a generic "area of adventure" when someplace like the Stolen Lands from Pathfinder: Kingmaker really felt like it was a unique place with history and connections to the world beyond its borders. But with BG3 it feels like once we've left this place, it might as well stop existing. The druids will be there doing whatever it is druids do, the tieflings will be leaving about when we are, the destroyed village will still be destroyed, the cultists will still be there being culty, it won't really matter to anything.