Why are there things that the mage hand can't reach? This makes zero sense unless what you're trying to reach is more than 30 feet from the caster. The hand floats! Let it do what it is meant to do. Honestly I would be happy for them to remove the offensive abilities like unarmed strike and grapple as the spell was never intended for those purposes. It can literally only pick up things that weigh 10lbs or less RAW. That means it has less than a 1 STR. It specifies in the spell description that it can't attack or activate magic items but any "interact with object" action should be viable including containers, etc.