Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
L
enthusiast
enthusiast
L
Have all the mobs have a variance in their initiative that is determined at the very beginning of a chapter / zone. Though meh.

Originally Posted by GrumpyMcGrump

As a programmer, I can guarantee everybody here that "random number generators" often aren't "random" at all

There is an argument to be made that randomness doesn't exist in the universe. Though I'm sure quantum physicists pretty strongly disagree.

Chaotic neutral, not chaotic stupid.
A
addict
addict
A
Originally Posted by error3
Originally Posted by Stabbey

The cure should not be worse than the disease. It's just that damn simple.

I can agree with that. The needs of the many over the needs of the few, and whatnot.

Which only brings us back to the original thought that "save-scumming" is therefore not an applicable argument against RNG mechanics.

Hell, and the seed mechanics just discourage, they wouldn't even stop it.

I offered one viable solution and immediately dropped it in favor of seed saving. Why have people felt the need to focus on the forum?

As for RNG not being random....well, yeah. But the RNG in D:OS felt plenty healthy enough to me so I really don't see why someone's ranting about it or what it is in programming (as a prgrommer, I appreciate the trouble of explaining it for others)

Now then, no one has offered a viable reason why the RNG systems of D:OS would be bad, per se, aside from "save-scumming" but everyone doesn't want to stop that either.

You can't complain that save scumming can break a mechanic and in the same breath complain about not using a mechanic because of save scumming when you refuse to give up the former.

RNG mechanics were perfectly fine for
The most part in game one. Only problem was that players abused the shit out of it. Thus seeding can be used to discourage it. Devs don't have to account for a determined player save-scumming, just the average one.