Next Thread
Print Thread
#745079 16/12/20 04:16 PM
A
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
A
As the title suggests, I have made this topic to discuss the possibility of being able to play as a true vampire and how it might fit into the game from a story perspective and a gameplay perspective. I do want to add that I am still quite new to DnD, so I had to research the lore and gameplay. If any of the information is wrong or outdated, or my suggestions don’t fit the lore, please let me know!

(I had some problems submitting this thread so apologies if I have accidentally posted it twice!)

Story

I want to talk about the story first. Now, obviously we don’t know how the encounter with Cazador will play out, so this is all pure speculation, but I am hoping there is one outcome where Astarion can become a true vampire, especially if the tadpole allows him to resist Cazador’s commands. If that happens, then I can see two potential ways that the player can also become a true vampire.

The first would be if you romance Astarion. In a world where all vampires are regarded as evil, why would you want to become one unless you are evil or power hungry yourself, or you fall in love with one? Now, at the moment, Astarion is probably just using the MC as a means of permanently freeing himself from Cazador’s control. We also don’t know how much romancing him means to him. He claims he just wants to enjoy himself, but if you tell him to ‘keep those teeth away from me’ he seems genuinely upset that you don’t trust him, so maybe he is starting to care about you, or at the very least starting to trust you.