S
Sedgar Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
S
Hey there!

A bit of an introduction is in order, I think, so here we go:
I am a young italian architect, fresh out of university (got my degree on July).
Since it has always been a dream of mine to..."commune" my career choice with the virtual world-building in video games, I wanted to learn what it would take to work in this industry (and if it would actually be possible, that goes without saying).

So what better place to start asking questions, I told myself, than one of my favourite game developer forums?
I admit that so far I only managed to play Divinity Original Sin 2 among Larian Studios games, but I have been absolutely stunned by the environments, atmosphere and the absolute attention to detail.
Divinity perfectly embodies the quality I generally seek in games and, pardon my naivety, would strive to achieve if I ever were to develop one.
Before making this thread too long (and a fool of myself), I will get to the point.

I would really appreciate any kind of advice, Digital modeling programs I should learn to use, Courses that would be worth attending to, ways to get in touch with the developers, you name it.

Thank you all in advance smile

Last edited by Sedgar; 22/12/20 09:35 AM.
Sedgar #746297 23/12/20 10:18 AM
Duchess of Gorgombert
Duchess of Gorgombert
I am quite definitely not a very artistic type so my advice may be of marginal use! I am a programmer and sysadmin by trade, though I suppose I did actually do very well at engineering drawing back in the Dark Ages.

To do pretty much anything with video games you need tools to work on textures and meshes. The no-budget approach to these is nearly always Gimp and Blender respectively, but people with a budget (or who already use the software) will use the likes of Photoshop and 3D-Max or some other equivalent. I don't use those so can't comment about them.